UMADA Cup 2010 (Trinidad)

UMADA 2010

On August 15-16, Head of Republic of Kalmykia, FIDE President Kirsan Ilyumzhinov visited Trinidad and Tobago where he participated in the opening ceremony of the 1st Caribbean Cup – UMADA Cup. The idea to hold such tournament was born two months ago during FIDE President’s visit to Cuba at the closing ceremony of Capablanca Memorial. And now more than 100 chess players from 15 countries representing the Caribbean have come to Port of Spain, the capital of Trinidad and Tobago, to participate in Umada Cup.

“This tournament is very important for support of young chess players, in order that they may gain the necessary international experience to improve their ratings,” said Kirsan Ilyumzhinov.

UMADA Opening Ceremonies

Opening Ceremony

At the opening ceremony were also present the Continental President for Americas Mr. Jorge Vega, Chairman of FIDE CACDEC Commission Allan Herbert, as well as the presidents of Caribbean chess federations. At the meetings with leaders of FIDE the issues in respect of the 39th World Chess Olympiad in Khanty-Mansiysk were discussed, as well as the other urgent issues of national federations, and primarily the implementation of “Chess in Schools” programme.

Kirsan Ilyumzhinov with Trinidad and Tobago President, Quinton Cabralis

Kirsan Ilyumzhinov with Trinidad and Tobago President, Quinton Cabralis

Source:Kirsan Ilyumzhinov at the Umada Cup 2010 in Trinidad & Tobago,”, 16 August 2010.

T&T Chess Association:

FIDE America:


  1. IM Rafael Prasca of Venezuela won the Master’s section of the UMADA Cup with a sparkling 8/9. He was followed by IM Julio Ostos with 7/9 with IM Gustavo Hernandez and FM Keron Cabralis sharing joint 3rd with 6/9. There was a quintet of players on 5.5/9 with FM Ryan Harper, Martyn Del Castilho, Marcus Joseph, David Finol and M. Sanchez in a tie for 5th-9th.

    In the Challenger’s section, Suriname’s Romario Sanches took home a surprising victory with 8/9. Seeded 14th at 1972 ELO, he beat several higher-rated players to clinch the crown with a round to spare. He was followed by German Herrera of Venezuela and his compatriot Ulises Hernandez, both scoring 7.5/9. Deborah Richards won the “Best Female Award” with 6/9.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button