Trinidad & Tobago Nationals  begin May 17th!
Trinidad Trinidad Trinidad

FM Ryan Harper's mission is simple… to win the National Championship with a perfect score. Sound far-fetched? It shouldn't because that's exactly what happened last year. Harper capped off a perfect 11-0 score breaking a long streak by of NM Christo Cave, would have won 10 years in a row. Harper went on to represent Trinidad &Tobago team in the 2002 Olympiad in Bled, Slovenia.

The Championships will start on May 17th as FM Harper will attempt to defend his crown.
Desiré Derick will defend her title of Ladies Closed Champion. The veteran title is currently held by Cesar Ramos and the Blitz title is held by NM Christo Cave. Other competitions during this chess festival will be: Junior Open (under-10, -12, -14, -16), Primary School Championship, and Ladies Open tournament.

The venue chosen for the National Championships will be the Student Activity Center at the University of West Indies (St. Augustine). Each round will start at 3:00 pm and the scheduled rounds can be found below. For more information, contact
Bisham Soondarsingh at

Posted by The Chess Drum: 7 May 2003