2006 Barbados Championship kicks off!
Barbados Barbados Barbados

IM Kevin Denny torched the field last week with a perfect 9-0 with hopes of regaining his title. The 14-time Barbadian champion appears to be in good form and will face 11 others including defending champion FM Delisle Warner.

Other players qualifying in the 2nd Qualifier were:
Demetrio Moore, Othneil Harewood, Michael Barker, Alex Jackman and Colvin Howard. Players from the 1st qualifier were: Terry Farley, FM Dr Philip Corbin, Kelvin Daniel, Shammel Howell, and Martyn Del Castilho

2006 National Championships began on September 23rd and is sponsored by Consumers' Guarantee Insurance (CGI), the first time the company is partnering with the BCF.

IM Kevin Denny

IM Kevin Denny

Update: According to a news report out of Barbados, IM Kevin Denny will not participate in the National Championships due to a prior commitment.

Posted by The Chess Drum: 26 September 2006