2003 Botswana Team Championships
Botswana Botswana Botswana

Booster Galesekegwe, "Bonyonyo Win Championship," Mmegi/The Reporter, 1 August 2003 (Gaborone, Botswana).

BONYONYO Chess Club bounced back to win the National Team Chess Championships which they last won in 2000. The trophy was not new to them even then as they had won it in the first championships in 1999 sponsored by Botswana Chess Federation. The tournament which Stanbic Bank began sponsoring in 2000 was played during President's Day holidays at President Hotel.

Bonyonyo Chess Club comprised of Board One Tebogo Pitlagano, Board Two Ofentse Molale, Board Three Baone Kealeboga, Board Four Moses July and Board Five Polite Salani scored 21 points to clinch the title which had previously belonged to Desert Knights. A 2-2 draw with the defending champions Desert Knights on Round Two had the reigning national champion, Ignatious Njobvu, Desert Knights Board One beaten by Bonyonyo Board One Tebogo Pitlagano. This resulted in Desert Knights settling for position two.

Tebago Pitlagano and Ofense Molale of the Bonyonyo Chess Club

Pitlagano & Molale

Bonyonyo won a floating trophy, six individual Gold trophies, seven T-shirts and P3000 cash. In position two Desert Knights with 21 points took six individual trophies, seven T-shirts and P 2500 cash. Poisonous Snakes scored 20.5 points winning individual Bronze trophies, seven T-shirts and P 2000 cash.

On Board prizes,
Providence Oatlhotse of Garrison won Board One prize scoring 5 points, Board Two prize went to Ofentse Molale of Bonyonyo chess club with 5,5 points. On Board Three Tshenolo Maruatona of Kings Chess Club collected 5 points while David Samuel of SSKB Chess Club claimed Board 4 with a convincing six points. All the winners pocketed P150 each.

Meanwhile the Botswana Chess Federation held their Ordinary General Meeting (OGM) and elected their new executive committee.
Dabulani Buthali was elected the President and Mosenya Ndawana the Vice President. Letlhokwa Galekhutle is the new treasurer while Alex Mpuisang is the Tournament Director. Tshimologo Kolaatamo was elected the secretary general, a position which has been vacant following Patrick Wanda's resignation early this year. Tshepiso Lopang and Kefilwe Miti are additional members.

Posted by The Chess Drum: 3 August 2003