The Chess Drum wins two CJA Awards!
The Chess Drum,

"The CJA is an American organization of chess journalists created to promote high quality chess journalism, to provide assistance to the working journalist through articles and contacts and to recognize chess journalism at its best through an annual awards program."

Chess Journalists of America recently concluded their annual awards competition and The Chess Drum won two awards in the category, "Best Tournament Report." The awards were 1st place for coverage of the Wilbert Paige Memorial Chess Tournament and an Honorable Mention for coverage of the 2001-2002 FIDE World Championship.

Also noteworthy,
Daaim Shabazz of The Chess Drum came in joint second with Jerry Hanken for "Journalist of the Year" award. This year's prestigious award was won by the eminent GM Yasser Seirawan, who authored the "Fresh Start" proposal for reunifying the World Championship cycle.  Other winners are listed on the CJA site. Congratulations to all!

Posted by The Chess Drum: 8 August 2002